Author of the Month :  The Official GrahamHancock.com forums
Join us at this forum every month for a discussion with famous popular authors from around the world. 
Welcome! Log InRegister
Hello David

I had a ponder about your discs and while I have no experience with anything Chinese – except for receiving acupuncture several times many years ago…and their food – I got curiouser and curiouser the more I looked at them.

I wasn’t really interested at all and read the topic in passing, but the imagery on the discs became a little puzzle that just needed a crack at. You did say that you thought they were currency, about 45-55mm across, and could easily be held on a thong (either about the waist, wrist or neck I would think…more likely the neck: easy to access and show someone…but then again, even easier to hang off a hat).

I’m going to offer that they are toll-discs, giving the wearer privilege of access because of the Sun-orb prolific throughout: the upright man means day/s; the on-all-fours man week; and the man reaching for the sword-on-the-branch month. (well, interchangeable of course…but the sword-on-the-branch looks more important than the others)

There are 2 kinds of upright man: facing us and facing the orb; and there are two versions of these: with mountain and without mountain. The on-all-fours man is facing the direction he is going; and the last man is facing the sword.

The obverse of 18 discs is grouped into 5 columns but there are slight differences between some in the columns, so while you may have grouped them according to their imagery of what the man is doing in his scene, the written meanings applying to those scenes are varied.

In the first column, all 4 are different. The second column are the same. The third column has 2 versions. The fourth column all 4 are different. The last column are the same.