Thanks for the information and help on this! Yes it does help clarify things alot!
That is the key point that keeps coming up in my doubts is the definition of forward in the official rules and its limitations as applied to the Pawn.
I can fully understand the reasoning on the rule as I have looked on another website(FIDE webpage).
Since they are an official chess website I figured they would have the most widely known set of rules and this the first site that had a diagram actually showing only one square diagonal attack from a starting position!
This only took me about 5 years to find some kind of solution. This site's copy of rules gives a much clearer rendering of the limits of the path allowed for the first move of a Pawn.
I found this info by:
2. click on info button at top(in gray)
3. click on Section E., subsection I. "Laws of chess"
4. click on E.I.01A. Laws of chess
5. The section 3.7 a-e
Thanks for the help and YES she is a handful as are the others and with only 2 hands available to me I am thinking about buying rope and duct tape for help!!
Sincerely and gratefully,