Thanks for the reply!
I wasn't clear on the setup, sorry! Surprised that anybody could tell that it was supposed to even be a chess game!
This setup was from a new start where, with white at bottom, the white moved a pawn on their right, followed by the black pawn directly in front of the Queen being moved forward 2 squares, the third move of game was another white pawn on right moved forward 1 square, the Black Queen moves out to the square directly in front her original position, on white's move- move the last pawn forward again, on this move you move Black Queen to her right diagonally as far as possible(this should be to white's far left(column A) the fourth square up(a white square), now with Black Queen sitting in A4 the white pawn at C2(3rd column from white's left-second square forward) is only two squares away from Black Queen diagonally, now being the said Pawn(C2) has the option of moving two squares on first move, as long as the first square is open, then the Pawn can move two squares! I am in full agreement on this. The rules state that the pawn must move forward only, never backwards! This doesn't state that the pawn can only move straight forward but only that the piece has to move forward.
If the Pawn is originally sitting at C2 position then moving to A4 is a forward move to the fourth row and has the first square open and is attacking an opposing piece diagonally!
I guess what I am trying to find out is if the rules specifically states this move is illegal because as far as I have seen the rules do not specify that you cannot capture on a two square diagonal attack from pawn's original position. I know it is far fetched but the rules only set a boundary for play not limit the pieces from within these rules, or do they? that is my confusion!
The reason as for the open square in front of pawn is to clarify that you can't use the two square move to jump over a piece that blocks your forward momentum. If the second square was open but not the first some might try to say they could move pawn to second square forward even though the only piece allowed to jump over another piece is the knight!
The reason for not stating the second square open is the fact that your Pawn would be blocked naturally in its forward movement because a pawn can not capture straight on but only diagonally.
Thanks for the replies and the help with this problem. If the above description helps in clearing up my description of the game play and you and your husband are feeling overly generous perhaps both of y'all would give it another look. I saw from the first part I muddied up the picture right off the bat! My fault completely!
P.S. Just starting out with my girls LOL! Their ages are 11,9,8,7,4 and they can start dating and/or get married when they are 30 yrs. old! Ya believe that will happen right? LMAO