Whew! Little mindbender going here for the novice. But first here's my 'chessmans' reply "per your instructions" tho he must add that he has rarely played Alpha-numerically so may have misguessed your placement. At any rate:
(His) side of board has B-King and B-Queen in their original starting points. Nothing to Right side of board. White Pawn directly in the 1st. square in front of the King.
Q. moves diagonally to R, 4 Squares.
Pawn is stuck-cannot take K
Q when moved got out of harms way.
Q could have taken P B4 moving to R
K still has opt. to move 1 square forward to take P
---in other words the pawn is either stuck where it is unless the K moves to R or L 1 space diagonal, which gives P, 1 step forward to be turned into a premium piece.
RE: Pawns attacking 2 squares diagonally...this is not an option. Pawns only have the option to move 2 squares when going FORWARD and this option is only available one time round so to speak. And that is when the Pawn is making its' very first move of the game from its' original square. And this move can only take place IF the move results in a non-capture.
NOW :))) here's my headache. The rule says if it moves two squares, the first square must be empty????? So what if another piece is in the second square? Hubby says this prohibits the pawn from having the option of moving two squares as two squares need to be empty for the move to be NONCAPTURING. But then why would the rule not say 2 squares must be empty, when in fact it says " if it moves 2 squares, the FIRST square must be empty??
Well hope I haven't confused the issue. We are looking forward to Winter and setting up the chess board, by the Fireplace for cozy "instructional" time for me. Hummm, do they have a Chessbook for Dummies? :))))) I got me one for the computer.
And 5 daughters.....wow! My brother has 4, two years apart. Bet you two could share some notes! ( he's in the marrying off phase now..2 down 2 to go.