Pati & husband,
Thanks for the site and yes it helps alot!
The problem that I was having is that the rules set out in the book mentioned above and in some others I have browsed thru only mentions that you can capture diagonally, with no reservation of only one square.
On the copy of rules you pasted it does mention the one square only stipulation but as most diagrams that accompany this rule show the Pawn away from original starting position and in which case it(the Pawn) is limited to only one square movement forward.
The move in question is from the original starting position where the Pawn has the possibility of a two square "first move"!
If you combine this two square "first move" with the only means of attack and capture then it seems to me, well within the rules, that you can capture a piece two squares diagonally from starting position!
If you or your husband doesn't mind try the setup I mentioned above and see if it fits within the rules.
I have the book mentioned above which I take the rules of movement from and wonder if there is different sets of rules for different styles or countries( USA, Europe, Russian,2 minute speed, tournament, timed, etc.)
I am going to ask this on the link provided too!