Thanks for the reply!
I am not so sure about it. I believe it is a legal move that follows the rules of a pawns movement on a chessboard.
In the book" Bobby Fischer teaches Chess" by Fischer/Margulies/Mosenfelder, it states:
The Pawn, unlike other pieces, moves in one fashion and captures in another. Also, it can only advance, never retreat. The Pawn moves forward-never backwards-one square at a time.
However, when thePawn is on its original square, it has the option of advancing one or two squares on its first move.
The Pawn captures diagonally forward to the left or right.
So following these rules I think that it is a legal move. The move is within these parameters, moves forwards, attacks diagonally, two squares moved on first move.
I am not wanting to be seen here as stubborn,though many who know me will agree to this terminology, but when it was first shown to me I argued against it, too!
Then after about 10 minutes I started to look again from a different point and followed the move using the official rules to prove this move illegal, but I couldn't succeed following them.
I have seen diagrams that show pawns capturing pieces diagonally one space but these have always shown the pawn in another square other then the original starting square.
If you have the time set up the good ol' chessboard and try it out! If you place white at the bottom move out any piece on right side so as not to block up left side(of course this will work other places but this the way I saw it), then move Pawn directly in front of black's king out then on the next move for black move the Black Queen to A5! Now it is whites turn to move, with the Pawn at C2 look at the move to A5 within the rules above!
See if it this move is valid from the framework of the limits and rules of attack for a Pawn?
I can not say that it is an illegal move, simply because it doesn't break any rules of the Pawn's movement!
Sorry if rambling, but have not gotten a good reason as to why it is an illegal move when it follows the rules! Have wondered for five years now about this! LOL Guess this game might get to ya! But only in a got to know for sure way!