Global Village :  The Official GrahamHancock.com forums
For good-natured and mutually-respectful discussions of politics and current affairs. Soap-boxing and the promotion of extremist causes motivated by hate will not be tolerated by our moderators. 
Welcome! Log InRegister
Hey Pati,

"as I mentioned I don't really know what a Hindu is specifically but I did think that the above definition applied to Buddism and Taoism. Are they considered Hindu also?"

Buddhism in a round about way came from Siddartha denying his rightful place as a warrior king and giving it all up to become complete. None of the rituals in Buddhism seem to have very many Hindu references, but I am no expert on Buddhism, so I could be wrong. I do know that Taoism defintiely had nothing to do with Hinduism. TM is most definitely from Hinduism.

You make many statements and references of the benefit of TM, and as far as meditation goes, I don't see it as harmful at all, but I don't necessarily see it as the cure-all the TM movement makes it out to be. And I'm not alone.

[www.trancenet.org]

"TM & Improving Human Performance" Renowned social scientist Daniel Druckman, of the Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution, discusses social science research consulting in the context of a three-year study undertaken for the National Research Council on improving human performance. This study is of importance to TranceNet readers for its findings that: (1) TM is ineffectual in improving human performance, and (2) its finding that the meta-analysis that pro-TM researchers have put forward as finding benefit for the technique are deeply flawed in their methodology.