Mysteries :  The Official GrahamHancock.com forums
For serious discussion of the controversies, approaches and enigmas surrounding the origins and development of the human species and of human civilization. (NB: for more ‘out there’ posts we point you in the direction of the ‘Paranormal & Supernatural’ Message Board). 
Welcome! Log InRegister
Graham Hancock:

I did not want this post to be part of the previous post. So this is why two posts, to you, in a row.

Have you heard of the author Leonard Shlain. He is a vascular surgeon by profession operating on carotid arteries. He tells us in his work in the PREFACE that he “has had the opportunity to observe firsthand the profoundly different functions performed by the different hemispheres of the brain. He says, “my unique perspective led me to propose a neuroanatomical hypothesis to explain why goddesses and priestesses disappeared from Western religions.

His work isn’t written like a vascular surgeon but is well written and footnoted with source material. He deals with the mythologies and culture around the world and it is quite an impressive work. I highly recommend it especially if you are going to answer your own question as to whys of Lost Civilizations..

I believe that this author will do you credit when you realize his premise. His work “THE ALPHABET VERSUS THE GODDESS: The Conflict Between Word and Image (462 pgs, Viking Press 1998)” basic thesis is that when cultures began to learn language through the alphabet the Goddess disappeared from culture.